Time to Reconnect

Mike asked me last night when was the last time I blogged.  I knew it had been a while but didn’t realize it had been two months.  Sorry about that.  Guess I’ll take a few minutes to fill you all in on what’s been happening.

Matthew’s Bottle Blitz is still going strong.  Our garage isn’t ready to burst at the seams anymore but people are continuously dropping off bottles or calling to have them picked up.  I think I’ll get Mike to do an updated pic as it’s been too long since we gave everyone a total.

Two Rivers Wildlife Park partnered with the Marion Bridge Recreation Association back at the end of January and started a new fundraiser called Chase The Ace.  Cape Breton is getting well-known for this type of fundraiser and some amazing non profit organizations have made a great deal of money.  Google it if you’ve never heard of it.  We are currently at week 9, hoping to make it a 46-50 week adventure.

Marcus has been having a great year in grade 2.  More days than not he stays at school until I’m on my way home from work.  He enjoys being able to play with the kids and is learning lots of sports skills that I see improving each time I pick him up.  He’s taken a liking to basketball, as well.  The grade 2 and 3 students who are interested are getting some basic skills of the game one night/week up at the school.  Hopefully this will develop into a permanent sport for him.  I loved basketball and although I didn’t play too much because of an old knee injury I did manage our basketball team all through high school.  I love that he is so eager to learn about any sport he can get involved in.  His birthday is one month from today.  I seriously can’t fathom where the last 8 years have gone.

After Marcus’ birthday it’ll be full steam ahead to June and Matthew’s graduation from high school.  Good grief!!!  I can’t even believe it.  Grand march and prom, open house and graduation ceremony.  14 long years.  Sometimes it feels like yesterday.  I still remember his first day.  What he wore, what I wore, who was there.  All of it is ingrained in my mind.   And now he is getting ready to say farewell.  

In between everything else that has been going on Mike and I have been working on a project, as well.  It’s still in the preliminary stages but we have a good working draft which we are just waiting to hear back on.  Soon.  Please, soon.  Fingers crossed!

I think that’s about all we’ve been up to.  Lots of exciting things coming up.  I may be posting more than you want to read…lol.

Until next time….

 

About angeloftheisland

Welcome to An Angel’s Island. I’m Tracey (aka angeloftheisland). I’m also Mom to 19 year old Matthew who constantly keeps me on my toes. He’s our “special” boy who shows us daily how he deals with the world of ADHD, a Nonverbal Learning Disorder and Asperger’s Syndrome. He’s my hero. Marcus is 8 and reminds me everyday that he’s in no way going to make the school years boring for his Dad and me!! I’m also wife to Mike for 25 years now. Mike is my best friend and soul-mate and he has showed me over the years, that yes – dreams do come true. Our life may not be the most exciting but there’s always something going on. Welcome to our Happy Place, newly renamed Hilliard's Happy Hideaway. I hope you enjoy what I’ve shared about our family.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

